Justin Jefferson Is the Favorite to Win OPOY Once Again in 2023

Purple Headlines
Feb 9, 2023; Phoenix, Arizona, US; Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson poses for a photo after receiving the award for AP Offensive Player during the NFL Honors award show at Symphony Hall. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

In 2022, Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson put together a historically great year, catching 128 passes for 1809 yards and 8 touchdowns. Those 128 receptions and 1809 yards each led the NFL for the year, making Jefferson the youngest player in NFL history to lead the league in each category.

For his outstanding performance on the field, Jefferson not only helped lead the Vikings to a 13-4 record and NFC North title, but he was also named the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year for the season. He became the first Vikings player since Adrian Peterson in 2012 to win the award.

Justin Jefferson OPOY
Oct 2, 2022; London, United Kingdom; Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson (18) scores on a 3-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter as New Orleans Saints defensive end Marcus Davenport (92) watches during an NFL International Series game at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. The Vikings defeated the Saints 28-25. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Now, heading into 2023, the star Vikings receiver is the odds-on favorite to win the award once again. Currently, Jefferson’s odds sit at +1200 while he is also joined at the top by his former LSU running mate, Ja’Marr Chase. Here is a look at the top odds for 2023:

  • Justin Jefferson: +1200
  • Ja’Marr Chase: +1200
  • Christian McCaffrey: +1400
  • Austin Ekeler: +1600
  • Tyreek Hill: +1800
  • Cooper Kupp: +2000
  • Lamar Jackson: +2000
  • Jalen Hurts: +2000
  • Josh Allen: +2500
  • Davante Adams: +2500
5 Tasks the Vikings Must Complete This Offseason
Jan 8, 2023; Chicago, Illinois, USA; Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson (18) warms up wearing a shirt honoring Buffalo Bills Safety Damar Hamlin (3) before the game against the Chicago Bears at Soldier Field. Mandatory Credit: Daniel Bartel-USA TODAY Sports

Interestingly, there isn’t a single QB sitting within the top-six right now. If a non-QB won the award again in 2023, it would be the fifth consecutive year that a quarterback did not win the award. The last QB to win was Patrick Mahomes back in 2018. The last time a streak of five years happened without a quarterback winning Offensive Player of the Year was from 1996-2003 when a running back won the award in eight consecutive seasons.

If Jefferson were to win the award for a second consecutive time, it would be just the third time that a player had done so since the award began in 1972. The only two players that have accomplished the feat are Earl Campbell (1978-80) and Marshall Faulk (1999-2001). As you can see, both players actually won three straight awards, so if Jefferson were to pull off a second consecutive OPOY in 2023, he would likely be the favorite to do so once again in 2024.

Josh Frey is a Class of 2020 graduate of The College of Idaho and managing editor of PurplePTSD.com. When he’s not writing about the NFL, Josh enjoys running, gaming, or rooting for the Milwaukee Brewers and Bucks. Check out his Twitter account: @Freyed_Chicken.